Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice for finding materials/scrap...I'm a newbie to welding.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for finding materials/scrap...I'm a newbie to welding.

I just ordered a Hobart Handler 140 and am wanting to just start messing around and making some simple garden art and whatever else comes to mind. The maintenance techs at my work are going to start collecting scrap metal at work for me. But, I want some other suggestions for where I can get metal, both scrap and also specific pieces (like let's say I wanted a certain length of 1/4" round stock steel).

Also, is there a good way to look at a piece of metal that isn't marked and determine if it is weldable, or if it is stainless versus mild steel. I feel stupid asking that question, especially because I do piping design in my job, but for me I always use sanitary stainless so I don't get to see the other variations.

Thanks for any advice you can give. Seems like there is a lot of knowledge out there.

Alicia

My local thrift store gets loads of "junk" that people leave. They set all the scrap metal aside, and haul it to the salvage yard when they have a load, but at a penny or two a pound, its hardly worth the gas, so they let me grab anything I want from that pile for free. Much of it is too thin to weld, but I still get loads of stuff there. Another source I have is a Chopper Motorcycle shop...the H-D dealer doesn't give me any scrap, but this shop gets loads of pips and damaged parts (many just scratched and scraped) that are insurance take-offs. I also get many parts fro local auto repair garages that they removed. All junk to those folks, but you'll need people skills to "get in "...and don't neglect to give them one of your better pieces now and then to "keep the parts flowing".
    "Good Enough Never Is"

Comment