Enclosed trash trailer build help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enclosed trash trailer build help

Complete newb here I can barely weld but I got a friend that's kick *** at it that I can call on so here's what I need to build it's basically a enclosed trash trailer but I'm building it solely to hold wooden pallets as many as possible in 2 rows as high as I feel comfortable making it its gonna have steel woven wire for the siding hopefully that makes it a bit lighter or anything that has the same characteristics so it's not a sealed off design I would like it to be 20-26' long by 8' wide maybe 8.5 and the walls can go as high as say 10' I need to be able to load as many pallets as possible I was thinking of using 2x8 tubing for the frame then maybe 2x2 for the crossmember I'm looking for advice or tell me how you would do it with the dimensions I've given make it as light as possible w.o havin to cough up the coin for special metals that are much more expensive its gotta hold as many pallets as possible thanks in advance guys!!!!

Before you get started, what's your budget? Have you priced existing trailers, especially used ones? Trailers are CRITICAL projects that will be on the roads at speed. They are not for beginners, and even most journeyman won't bother because it's usually way cheaper to buy one, unless the needed dimensions are so critical that they need to.

When you look for material, the term you want to use for the sides is "expanded metal." You may even want to specify flattened expanded metal since it will be a vertical surface that you'll be brushing up against.

With what truck are you towing it? A trailer that size will need brakes. Have you decided which kind you are going to install? Does your state require homemade trailers to be inspected and registered?
    Last edited by MAC702; 11-26-2018, 11:09 AM.

Comment