Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jigs....

hello to all,

I have been watching this site since I bought my HH135....about a year ago. I am a structural steel detailer for a metal building company, a machinist by trade, and enjoy building custom motorcycles.....

I would like to participate buy showing you this jig I am real proud of. The project is a passenger peg stand for my chopper. It is made fron 1/2 inch rod, hand bent with a torch, using 1/8th x 1" L for the base. I just got out of the machine shop I have access to saturday, and will be finishing the project soon. If I do not respond quickly it is because I work about 50 or more hours a week.......
    ~J~

So what's it do?

Comment

Welcome Johnny,

While just a hobbist, I tend to do more machine work than welding on my projects. (Tap threads instead of welding on a nut, bolt on a part instead of weld if alignment is critical, like that).

Anyway,

Looks like quite a bit of work and thought in the fixture, but I too am not sure what it does.

My guess is the tie-wraps will go away and the upper round will get welded to the lower ones? The angles bolt under some place and the upper rods stick out a foot pegs. Am I anywhere close.

Also a happy HH-135 owner.

There is a "biker" and "motorcyclist" contingent amoung the forum members and any pix of your creations will be most welcome.

Hope work is not too hectic. Welcome again.

Bob
      Last edited by Bob; 12-08-2002, 06:35 PM.

Comment

thanks bob

yes bob, that picture was taken right before I welded it together.... The two angles will bolt to the rear motor mount, and the arms will "strattle" the rear fender prviding a place to bolt on a set of passenger pegs...... Here is a picture of my bike, the peg mount, when finished, will extend from the rear of the oil tank.....
        ~J~

Comment

here
          ~J~

Comment

how it works?