Rollbar/ Floorpan work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rollbar/ Floorpan work

Hi all. I am a novice welder with a Hobart handler 135. I am using gas and solid core wire. I spent several days practicing on relatively thick metal to get a decent bead down. The major problem I am having is welding the thick metal plates that came with my rollbar to the super-thin floorpans.

I am burning holes through the floorpan almost the second I am touching it with the torch!! I have managed to get 1 plate done, but I had to patch several holes I created as well. it was frustrating. I am using the lowest power setting (1 out of 4) and tried various wire speeds.

I am using .030 solid core wire.., is this too heavy?? I did some reading last night and it appears several guys doing VW restores are using .023 or .024 wire. Can this really make such a difference, or are floorpans just very difficult to work with?

Any advice or opinions would be appreciated.

thanks

jason
    Last edited by Jasontech; 10-14-2002, 09:14 AM.

You are trying to do lap joint between thin floorpan and thick pad of rollbar.
    Must be no gap between pad and floorpan so tack weld and as required beat floorpan into close contact.
    The thickness difference makes welding more difficult but is done all the time. VW has nice thick sheet metal making it easier unless floorpan is rusty. Rusty metal in floorpan must be replaced.
    Direct Torch/heat towards the thicker pad. Pause a little during weave onto thicker pad edge to get better penitration and no pause while on thin floor pan.

There could be too great thickness difference to make the above real practical. Grind edge of pad so it is 60 degree insteed of 90 degree leaving a thin section next to floor pan at original angle. Make the thin section at original 90 degree angle about 2 times the thickness of floor pan. This then becomes much easier weld.

Practice with meal same thickness as your project and do bend tests.