Aluminum repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aluminum repair

Hi, Thank goodness I found this forum! I'm trying to weld the fin on my boats lower unit. I've tried 3/32 alum. rod with an old Hobart t-225, cleaned with ss brush, rev. polarity, not sure if welder is DC. Maybe that's the problem? I then tried 030 wire with argon, much better, but doesn't seem to melt in, just ***** up and constant birdnesting.The rod either sticks every time or no arc at all. Any help would be surely appreciated, I'm about to sink this ddaaammm thing!

What is your wirefeeder setup like?Sometime cast aluminum is not real easy to weld.You would not like my way to fix the problem.so I wont say a word.Alot of times mig welding aluminum with a cv power supply just does not melt in that good.On thicker aluminum cc works much better for the bite in factor.

Comment

I'm just a self taught welder, but anyway, I'm not sure what cv - cc is, setup is lincoln sp100, wire is fed from reel thru 6 - 7' metal liner, 030 tip, top amps and top speed. Is the old hobart ac or dc. It's probably 30 yrs. old! I'd rather try stick, but that's hopeless, unless my welder is only ac.

Comment

By the way, what was your solution? Housing cost's 900 bigun's

Comment

Mine is to use my power mig,I didn't think you would like that.CV is constant votatage,and CC is constant current like your hobart.It sounds like it is not spray-arcing the aluminum wire right.Make sure your gun is electrode positive also.Check for slipping drive rolls.I think those little migs are tough to weld aluminum.How thick are you trying to weld,and what is the type of wire you are using?4043 or 5356.

Comment