Hobart 175 handler vs. Ironman 210

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hobart 175 handler vs. Ironman 210

I am currently looking to purchase a welder & have been looking into the Hobart 175 Handler. Since I am new to welding I would like some opinons on which welder is right for the applications I plan to use it for.

I plan on using the welder to work on restoring a old car, including frame work & some aluminum. I would like to know if anyone has any experience w/this welder & what kind of arch this welder produces vs. the Ironman 210 (as I am also looking into this model)? Which one is the best all around welder for the home hobbist & is built to last?

Thanks!

Jim

I started out with a campbell hausfeld 105 the one ya can hook up to a bottle after I couple of years I upgraded to a MM 251. I sold my old welder to a guy at work for half the price I paid for it. If you are just starting out get a 135 and move up later. Spend your extra money on books and safety equipment like a good hood.
    Art is dangerous!
    www.PiedmontIronworks.com

Comment

if ya are just starting out I would spend as lil as possible and see if welding is really something I want to do. If not then I wouldn't be out a lot of money. On the other hand, who wouldn't like welding get the biggest machine you can afford. I paid $300 for my first welder and sold it for $150. I wasn't planning on selling it until a guy at work was wanting to start welding some sheet metal for his truck. I said "Oh yeah, I have the perfect welder for ya!"
      Art is dangerous!

Comment