First welder, new or used?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First welder, new or used?

Let me say right up front that I am a complete newbie, but I am eager to learn. I am enrolled next semester in a basic welding class at the local community college, and I am looking to buy a MIG welder. I am a home hobbyist planning to weld steel up to ¼”. My budget is $1000 give or take.

I have been told by a number of people that I will need 200 amps or better, and that it is a huge mistake to buy too small or too light duty, so I have been looking for a quality used welder.

I found a nice clean L-TEC MM250, and I would appreciate any feedback on this welder. It’s about 7-8 years old and supposedly cost $2500 new. It looks pretty much identical to an ESAB Migmaster, so I am assuming it is the same unit sold under the L-TEC label. It comes with a cart, two tanks, and a regulator. The owner wants $1000 but may come down.

Is this the right welder for me? Is the price fair (assuming it is in good condition)? Is there a better choice in my price range? Should I be thinking new rather than used? Should I find a shop to check it out before I buy?

Thanks in advance for any advice I might get.

dwaber

This is just my opinion, but if your budget can stretch to around $1100 I would buy a new 200 amp or 210 amp machine. These machines will give you the amperage that you need to make a quality weld on 1/4" material. Most of them have more than enough duty cycle at the high end of there amperage range for home hobbiest welding of 1/4" material. One important thing too is that they all come with a warranty . If you buy a used machine from a private owner and it breaks in the first week, who is paying to have it fixed? You are of course. Just something to think about.