135 Handler tips

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 135 Handler tips

Hello!~ I am a beginning welder. After taking a basic welding class at the local JC, my first project was building a welding table. I have a small portable oxyacetylene set and after burning through 2 gas bottles and only completing a 1/4 of the table (3/16 & 1/4" flatbar), I decided I needed another approach. After several hours of research, I decided to buy a Hobart 135 Handler. I purchased it at a local farm supply store, assembled it and began. Since it was Thanksgiving, I was unable to purchase the argon gas bottle, so I used the gasless flux wire that came with the package. Everything went well (so much easier than gas welding) except I ran into one problem as I completed the last few welds. The wire began sticking and not advancing. I tried cooling the machine by turning it off for 30 minutes. I checked the feed and it seemed OK. I remembered that they included two extra tips. I replaced the original and the problem seemed to be fixed. That tip also stopped working about 20 minutes later. I put the last tip in and it only worked for about 5 minutes. My questions are:
    1) Should I be going through tips that fast?
    2) Perhaps I was using it too heavy. The machine was on for about two hours, but I would weld for 1-2 minutes, think for 5 minutes, etc.
    3) About 1/2 way through the project, my brother in law came over and loaned me some "mig dip" and said I should dip before every weld to keep the head clean. The problem started after the dipping began. Could that have anything to do with the wire sticking?
    4) Anybody want to buy a $40 welding rable for $600? (my wife's question).
    Appreciate any help. I'm off to buy more tips unless I hear otherwise.