Tig with a stick welder?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tig with a stick welder?

Did I read somewhere that someone makes a TIG torch that hooks up to a standard stick welder? I could have sworn I read that. Am I nuts? Ummm, wait, let me rephrase, am I incorrect? If not, where can you get one, what else would you need, and I assume it would have limitations over a real tig machine, so what are the drawbacks?
    Justin
    If you expect the unexpected, doesn't that make the unexpected, the expected?

nitsuj,

Try a search. There has been much discussion on this. I even have one on an engine drive.

Dave
    "Some days you're the dog, some days you're the fire hydrant"

Comment

I have one rigged up complete with high freq and a foot control. I think I have posted most of the info here.
      What do I know I am just an electronics technician.

Comment

Yeah, it's possible. www.tigdepot.com has a few kits for similar stuff. It seems like the biggest drawbacks would be a lack of amperage control with just the torch n stuff, and on some kits it doesn't seem like you get as wide a range of amperage either. Although I could be wrong. I know of a few people on here that have the Dialarc with an HF box and TIG stuff and absolutely love it though. May be worth looking into if you already own the stick machine.
        Lean Mean TIGing Machine!
        Lincoln Squarewave 175

Comment

To be a little more detailed, i just re-read your question. You can hook a torch with a gas valve on it straight up to a stick powersource I believe. Just make sure it's on DCEN for steel and hook up a bottle of straight argon and you can do some TIG welding, but hooking up this way leaves you without remote amperage control and to start the arc, you have to scratch the tungsten across the work piece. If you have more questions, put em up and we'll answer em!
          Lincoln Squarewave 175

Comment