can I use a hand held torch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can I use a hand held torch?

I'm new to the welding world and have been taking an evening class at the local community college. so far I have mainly been using the forge and large torch to heat up steel rods to turn them into various candle holder type shapes.

I was wondering if those very small hand held torches that you can purchase at hardware stores for around 40 bucks would get 3/8 inch steel rod hot enough to bend.

I know it won't do the same job as the large cutting torch I'm using in class, I would just like to do some simple bending in my back yard over the weekends.

I have no experience with these small torches and as I mentioned, I know they are no subsitute for large torches but how hot will they get the metal? the largest round stock I'm using is 3/8 and most is even 1/4 inch.

thanks

Yea, but you'll go broke buying gas for it.

Comment

is there an alternative to the large cutting torches I've been using at the school?

I have seen a smaller torch kit at the home depo that has two very small tanks (maybe 6 inches in diameter and 14 inches tall) but the kit sells for around $250.00. More then I have to spend.

thanks again

Comment

torch

They also sell a torch that hooks up to propane tanks
        BBQ
        the one I have is a turbo torch that I purchaced at my local holesale pluming shop I dont rememder how mutch i paid for it
        Wood-N-Steel

Comment

pnj,

If all your going to do is bend 3/8 and 1/4 inch round you might as well do it the old fashioned way. Be a lot cheaper than buying a set of torches. Build one of these, add some BBQ briquettes and some coal and your in business. While your at the junk yard scrounging up the stuff, see if you can get a small piece of rail road track. Makes a neat little anvil.
          http://

Easy to build forge for beginning blacksmiths using a brake drum or other easily scrounged materials.

Comment