What welder?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What welder?

i am getting ready to buy a mig welder. i am a total novice to mig welding i have arc welded in the past but not much. i am looking at the HH175 basically because of price. it might help if i tell you what i will be using it for. i will be fabricating stuff on my cj-7 probably the thickest material i will weld will be 3/8" maybee.... probably 1/4" at the thickest.

also i have never mig welded...should i just pick the gun up and practice or should i take a class? how hard is it to learn on a HH175?

thanks

Chris G.

Re: What welder?

Originally posted by chrisjeep7
    i am getting ready to buy a mig welder. i am a total novice to mig welding i have arc welded in the past but not much. i am looking at the HH175 basically because of price. it might help if i tell you what i will be using it for. i will be fabricating stuff on my cj-7 probably the thickest material i will weld will be 3/8" maybee.... probably 1/4" at the thickest.

also i have never mig welded...should i just pick the gun up and practice or should i take a class? how hard is it to learn on a HH175?

thanks

Chris G.
    Go for the HH175 I have one and love it. It would definatly help to take classes, but you can learn the HH without. I would do alot of practicing before welding on the Jeep.
    ROCK

Comment

Chris

I highly recommend that you take a Basic MIG welding class. In a 3 month time period you will learn more than you probably would in 5 to 10 years trying to teach yourself.
      MigMaster 250- Smooth arc with a good touch of softness to it. Good weld puddle wetout. Light spatter producer.
      Ironman 230 - Soft arc with a touch of agressiveness to it. Very good weld puddle wet out. Light spatter producer.

PM 180C

HH 125 EZ - impressive little fluxcore only unit

Comment