Econotig vs Synchrowave 180SD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Econotig vs Synchrowave 180SD

I plan to buy a TIG welder in the next month or so. I am looking at the Econotig and the Synchrowave 180. Although money is an object, would I be better off spending the extra money for the 180 or go for the economical Econotig? I am just getting into TIG welding. I plan to use it on mower decks and small engine blocks and maybe an occaisional roll bar if I trust my welding enough. Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mowjunk

Hey RockyD, I wanted to put my avatar under my name, but Hobart said it would scare the kids and old folk....

Syncrowave 180

I would go after the 180. I have an Econotig and I was in the same situation when I bought it. There is nothing wrong with the Econotig, but it is rather lacking if you do any aluminum in the future. I ended up buying a Syncrowave 300 to upgrade from the Econotig.

Comment

Re: Econotig vs Synchrowave 180SD

Originally posted by Mowjunk
      I plan to buy a TIG welder in the next month or so. I am looking at the Econotig and the Synchrowave 180. Although money is an object, would I be better off spending the extra money for the 180 or go for the economical Econotig? I am just getting into TIG welding. I plan to use it on mower decks and small engine blocks and maybe an occaisional roll bar if I trust my welding enough. Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mowjunk

Hey RockyD, I wanted to put my avatar under my name, but Hobart said it would scare the kids and old folk....

Hey...it's almost Halloween...so it would be perfect...you'll fit right in! Do it!

Get the Syncrowave...you won't regret it.

Comment

MOWJUNK.......... SEEN A LOT OF SCARIE THINGS IN MY DAY...... HEY PUT IT UP THERE DON'T WORK WE WILL ZIP IT OFF.....
        CONSIDER THIS THE ECONOTIG GOES AS LOW AS 20 AMPS IN AC AND 25 AMPS IN DC...... THE SYNCROWAVE GOES DOWN TO 10 AMPS IN DC AND 15 AMPS IN AC.............