Just a comment on HBF wire

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just a comment on HBF wire

I just bought some 10lb wire from Harbor frieght. It was the .035 flux core wire. Just a comment on this wire. I have been using other flux core in the 2lb range for about 5 months and never had a problem. This particular wire when I cranked my 110 volt little wire welder up to max (#4 for some heavier welding) in the setting that I had been using I would get porosity in my welds. It would work fine in the lower settings . I found out after much playing with it that I had to double my wire speed to stop the porosity. If anyone else has this trouble with this wire you might try increasing your wire speed way beyond what you might be used to. Anyway just thought it might help someone.
    Mark

HI MARK........ WHAT BRAND WAS HARBOR FREIGHT SELL. SOUNDS LIKE A POOR MIX ON THE FLUX TO ME........ROCK
    [email protected]

Comment

Here is another guess.

Flux core that has absorbed moisture into flux will weld poorly. Extending stickout heats the wire and make it weld better. Maybe drys it a little. I would try 3/4" to 1.5" stickout with the .035" wire and if it welds better, you found the problem.
      The reason to limit stickout is too much resistance and heat in wire. Thicker fluxcore wire used on big welders can extend stickout up to 2 3/4".

Comment

Hey guys,