Bobcat or Trailblazer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bobcat or Trailblazer

I'm biting the bullet and getting a engine driven welder so I can do most of my work onsite. I build a lot of basic steel gates and do a lot or repair on steel framed kennel runs. I'm thinking how nice it would be not to have to bring this stuff back to my shop ( currently a 2 car garage) and do the work onsite. Ive been looking at the bobcat 250 and the trail blazer 302. I think the bobcat would be more than enough for what I do but , I dont want to get stuck needing more machine either. I have absoultly no experiance with a engine drive machine this will be a first for me. Any feedback on the pros and cons of these two machines for what I do would be a great help. I use 16 to 14 gauge square tubes on everything I make and repair.
    MM 135
    MM 210
    Maxstar 150
    Smith O/A

I'm no expert but it sounds like you are right when you say the Bobcat is plenty enough welder. That being said most of the people with Miller engine drives ( at least here and the Miller board ) say " You can weld with a Bobcat but a Trailblazer is a welder " Talk to your local welding supply and see if you can test drive both. That's the only way I know of to see if you want the bigger machine. I have heard the TB does have a very smooth arc. The adjustable dig control can be a help and TB will accept a remote if you ever want to tig or just need to be setup to change amps without going back to the welder.
    Dennis

Thermal Arc 185-TSW
    Millermatic Challenger 172
    VictorO/A
    Atlas Craftsman 12 by 24 Lathe
    Esab PCM-875
    Wholesale Tool Mill-Drill

Comment

Originally posted by ivan