Another rookie question-voltage?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another rookie question-voltage?

I'm a complete rookie, but am interested in welding and welders. One (of the many) questions that come to mind concerns the welding voltage used by stick welders.
    Can anyone tell me what range of voltages are offered by most low-end stick welders?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Another rookie question-voltage?

Originally posted by weldbob
    Can anyone tell me what range of voltages are offered by most low-end stick welders?

Thanks in advance!
    Input voltage or output?

Comment

Re:Another Rookie question...

Rocky,
      Thanks for the quick reply. I should have clarified; I'm looking for output voltages.

WB

Comment

there are two voltages we are talking. about open circuit voltage[ocv] and load voltage. most machines have an ocv @70-80 volts. just start the machine and put a volt/ohmmeter on the output terminals.
        load voltage is it's duty cycle output voltage and that's a NEMA standard. if a machine is rated at 200amps it's has 28 volts. 300-32volts, 400-36v and so on.
        in the early days, ocv was higher and output was higher too. this made good starting, smooth sma[stick-weld] machines but, they tended to electrocute people. so voltage was dropped to safer limits. [ field pipe-welders LOVE high ocv dc machines!]
        as you weld, your voltage will be something less than it's rated output voltage and will change a small amount as your arc length changes
        chip

Comment

Re:Another Rookie question-voltage?

Chip,
          Thanks for the info. This will help with my first project, which is the welder itself. Actually, I built one abouty thirty years ago, and have never used it. I'm doing some testing, and am trying to select output taps to get the voltage I want. This will help a lot.
          Thanks again!

WB

Comment

Sounds like an interesting project. Post some details and let us know how it's going.