Multi-process machines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multi-process machines

I'm fairly new to welding and want to upgrade from a basic AC stick machine. I'm interested in MIG but I know I want to move up to the higher skill TIG at some point. I would also like to have DC stick capability. Some of my questions are:

1. What are the advantages/disadvantages of a multi-process machine?
    2. Do you loose any capabilities with a multi-process machine?
    3. Can a multi-process machine spray arc?
    4. Does the Shopmaster come with any cables or is it just the machine alone? (looking to cost compare)
    5. Is the multi-process a good idea or is it better to have separate machines?
    6. Does Miller/Hobart give enthusiastic Junior Members discount vouchers for participating on this site?
    Duke

I do not claim to be an expert on this but I will give my two cents and I am sure other will give better advice. I have Miller NT250. It is able to do most if not all of what you are looking for. HOWEVER, in order to do so you have to by all the different torches, cables, spool guns, etc. That being said, you can buy the whole seperate welders in alot of cases for the same amount, sometimes cheaper than the units you have to plug into the NT250. It is in my opinion better to have the seperate machines where you can just step right up and start welding rather than having to pull cables and set up depending on what welding you want to do. I am unsure of what the non- motor driven units will do or their costs. I have a 110v wire welder that I love and is very portable along with not having to start up the generator to weld one or two passes. I use it for the shop welding, and heavier stuff I use the NT250.

Comment

Re: Multi-process machines

With your wanting to try TIG welding spend extra for welding machine that can use remote amp control.

1. What are the advantages/disadvantages of a multi-process machine?