No announcement yet.

Auto darkening helmet malfunctioning???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto darkening helmet malfunctioning???

HI,

I have a auto darkening helmet. I think the manufacter is Arc One...but I might be wrong on that as the helmet is not infront of me at the moment.

I think it is not working right. It has an adjustable setting on the outside, lightest is 7 and max is something like 14. Even when set on 7 I can't see too well. I CAN see the arc and the puddle, but I can't see much more. At times it seems like if I look through the top edge of the viewing area, I can see better.

In a nutshell, I think it may be varying in shade level, and most of the time be much darker than I want. I have no real experience with any other helmet as I am just getting into the welding thing, and have only welded three times...each for 3 hours in a community college class.

I do plan on taking the helmet back to the dealer tomorrow as I was going there anyway to check out welders.

The adjustment knob seems to have some affect when viewing the arc, if I adjust it while running a bead. If I run a real long arc, I can see things pretty good, but natually that is not the way to weld.

AS you can see...I am not doing very good at asking this question.

I guess the real question is, if I have my auto darkening helmet set to a shade 7, should I see more than just the arc and the puddle?

The way things are now if I am running a practice bead on a piece of steel 2 inches wide, I cannot see the edge of the steel on either side of the bead...except for a faint line sometimes...and this makes it real had to keep the bead going where I want it to.

I just kept the setting at the lowest setting of 7 today, and could hardly see what I was doing.

Anyone agree that this sounds wrong? Or am I just too new to know better?
    Bill

Near Pgh, PA