GMAW transfer types

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GMAW transfer types

I am a student teacher in a high school welding class. I am teaching GMAW (mild steel). What I want to know is the specifics that separate spray, globular, and short-circuiting transfers. My text book, "Welding Skills", is not very clear on the subject and often conflicts with what I learned in college. What are the shielding gases, voltages, electrodes, ect, that have to be in place to determine transfer type. Thanks, Ron
    Ronald 1

If the book you are refering to is "welding skills and practices" by Giachino and Weeks, the
    section that deals with arc transfer is fairly concise, as I see it.( Though perhaps a newer edition has changed the treatment of this subject, I last taught from the 1978 edition).
    Should this be the case, see if you can get an older copy.

Basically, arc voltage is what seperates the transfer modes, shielding gas has an effect as well,as argon will allow the arc stability at a lower voltage.

The Lincoln Foundation has many good titles for teaching texts, and you will find the prices very
    reasonable.
    work safe, always wear your safety glasses.

Edward Heimbach

Comment