TIGing Alum. New to TIG & Alum.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TIGing Alum. New to TIG & Alum.

I have been TIG welding with my Syncrowave 300 TIG welder for about 2 months now on and off. I have gotten pretty good at Mild and stainless steels and have even gone as far as to fabricate a few things, but when i try Aluminum i dont have such luck. I dont know if its the kind of AL i am welding on or what the rpoblem is. Well i was wondering what kind of tips or tricks you guys could give me. Any info is appreciated. thanks...
    -Brian W.
    <--1976 Miller Syncrowave 300
    "****, this things 7 years older than me!"

get some aluminum that you know is good.

I'd recomend some 3/16" or so 6061 flat stock and 5053 filler

and practice the flat position for a bit. once you get the hang of it it not so bad. play with the balance and modulating the heat to get different size beads.

I'm no expert but I'm getting better

P.S. aluminum road signs are quite weldable.
    T/A 185

Comment

A couple things here which I can share, that you may or may not no already.

1) It will take many more amps to weld 1/8" aluminum then the same 1/8" steel or stainless steel, for the heat is transfered quickly with aluminum, brass & copper metals.
      2) Clean the aluminum with wire wheel, brush & or acetone cleaner.
      3) Aluminum is somewhat a porous metal and will absorb moisture, so a little heat to expel moisture will also help. If welding thick alumnium pre-heat material prior to welding this will help a lot.
      4)You can use a pure tungsten for aluminum or 2 % tunsten will work also, so this should not be a problem for you.