3&4g 7018 Ac

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3&4g 7018 Ac

HI GUYS. THIS IS MY FIRST POST SO I'LL INTRODUCE MYSELF. MY NAME IS MATT, I'VE BEEN WELDING FOR THE LAST 4 YEARS, THROUGH MY HIGH SCHOOL. GRADUATED LAST YEAR. I'M NOT A NOVICE WELDER, AND HAVE DONE SOME INDUSTRIAL WORK AND SOME CUSTOM TUBE FRAME FABRICATION. I CAN ARC/MIG/TIG/OXY WELD, WITH MOST OF MY SKILL IN ARC AND MIG, SOME LIMITED TIG, AND OXY.

NOT SURE HOW MANY OF YOU ARE FAMILIAR WITH THE SKILLS USA/VICA ORGANIZATION, BUT IT IS A TRADE CLUBS ORGANIZATION THAT PUTS ON CONTESTS EACH YEAR. I WON MY STATE COMPETITION AND PLACED 2ND AT NATIONALS LAST YEAR. I WAS INVITED TO BE PART OF THE PROCESS TO SELECT ONE PERSON TO REPRESENT THE UNITED STATES AT THE WORLD SKILLS COMPETITION IN SWITZERLAND NEXT YEAR. RIGHT NOW THERE ARE 19 GUYS IN THE PRELIMINARYS.

MY PROBLEM IS WITH THE 2 7018 PLATES REQUIRED. THESE ARE SET WELD PARAMETERS SO DONT JUST TELL ME TO CHANGE THEM. THE PLATES ARE 3/8" PLATE, 60 DEGREE V GROOVES WITH 3/32" ROOT FACE. ROD IS 3/32" 7018 THAT MUST BE RUN ON AC.
    MY PROBLEM IS THE POROSITY STEMMING FROM THE AC CURRENT. IT SHOWS UP AT RANDOM TIMES, UNPREDICTABLY. I CAN RUN SEVERAL RODS CLEAN AND THEN HAVE ONE WITH A BELT OF POROSITY THROUGH MOST OF IT. THE 3G PLATE HAS A ROOT GAP OF 1/8" AT THE START, 5/32" AT THE FINISH. IF YOU LOOK AT THE PICTURES IN THE PAGE I'M GOING TO LINK TO, THE PICTURES ARE NAMED SO THAT YOU CAN TELL WHAT THEY ARE. THE WELD SEQUENCE WENT LIKE THIS: ONE WELD CLEAN, ONE WELD DIRTY, ONE WELD CLEAN, ONE WELD DIRTY. THIS IS WHEN I BEGAN TAKING PICTURES. YOU CAN SEE THE POROSITY IN THE GROUND OUT AREA FOR THE TIE IN. I RAN ANOTHER ROD AND GROUND IT, AND IT WAS CLEAN AS YOU CAN SEE. THERE IS ALSO A PICTURE OF THE ENTIRE ROOT PASS, A PICTURE OF THE ENTIRE ROOT FACE, AND A PICTURE OF THE ROOT PASS GROUND OUT TO SHOW THE 2 AREAS OF POROSITY. SORRY THE FLASH MADE IT HARD TO SEE.