Question about welding school

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about welding school

Ok, I know this probably isnt the place to ask this but here goes...I have been welding for about 12 yrs off and on self taught. Last job I had I welded structural steel in all the bulk mail centers in the US. WE built mezzanines and high speed conveyors and installed them . I was told recently about a large job in canada that pays extremely well and is a 15-20 yr job in the oil refinerys there. I want to go to welding school but dont know really what I should take. The local Vo-Tech has a 3 month welding class that is from 6:30pm-9:30pm that has an instructor that was a former teacher at the Tulsa Welding school in Tulsa Okla. The vo tech class in 118.00 compared to 6000.00 at TWS. They teach Mig aluminum/steel, Tig aluminum/steel, flux core and rod welding at the Vo-Tech. I know if I went to TWS I would have that to say where I learned to weld at along with the credentials. Im not a bad weldor, just need to get my foot in the door so I can get to Canada and work. Should I go the TWS route or go to the Vo-Tech? I know this is probably a stupid question to you guys, but id rather ask a stupid question and get a lot of stupid replies and maybe a few good responses, instead of taking the step myself and making the wrong choices.....Any input would be greatly appreciated.....Shawn
    Last edited by ftgokie; 10-12-2006, 10:57 PM.
    Lincoln Invertec V350
    Lincoln Ranger 250
    Miller Trailblazer 302 Diesel
    Hypertherm Powermax 1250