Tig Torch and high frequency unit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tig Torch and high frequency unit

I came across a high frequency unit and a tig torch that seem to be pretty old. The torch is made by Tig Arc Mfg. in South Houston and the HF unit is made by Solar. Is anyone familiar with either of these products? The torch has a cup on it made by Linde. Just wondering if it was junk or something useable.

Thanks

Never mind

Never mind, I found out what I needed to know.......

Comment

Which was?
      What do I know I am just an electronics technician.

Comment

Tig torch

Mike, I found that the torch uses all Linde parts, which are available and the high frequency unit still works. I was concerned about the torch, which seemed to be an obscure brand and I wouldn't be able to get parts for it.

I just have to change the connectors on the unit and it looks like I'm in business to TRY to TIG weld aluminum. It will be my first attempt at TIG using my Miller Thunderbolt.

I wanted information about the HF unit to see if it was worth spending any money on it or if the general feeling of the welding community was that it was junk. It looks like the only money I will have to spend on it is for the new connectors.

Thanks for asking....

John

Comment

MOJUNK........... A WORD OF CAUTION........ THE T-BOLT ONLY GETS DOWN TO ABOUT 35 AMPS....... SO IF YOUR DOING SOME THIN ALUMINUM BE CAREFUL AND DON'T BURN THRU........ HAVE SOME FUN...........ROCK............... [email protected][email protected]

Comment

Thanks, Rock....Could you suggest a starting amperage for 3/32 pure tungsten, 3/32 aluminum rod and 1/8" aluminum base metal? Also, I'm going to get a tank of 100% argon, but what would happen if I used 75/25 argon/co2? I know I shouldn't, but I was just curious as to what would happen.

Thanks,

John

Comment