Newbie Here - How do my welds look?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Here - How do my welds look?

I found this board last week and I have been enjoying checking out all the talent here.

Anyway, I've been playing with a 220 AC buzz box (sold under the Montgomery Ward brand ) that I got from my father who's had it for at least 20 years.

These first 2 welds are done with 1/8 6013 and the third is done with 3/32 7018 on 2 pieces of sch 40 pipe and ground down.

How am I doing?

Comment

Comment

on the 6013 it looks like you speeded up about half way in (where the bead is thinner) nd your arc length maybe a bit long cause it looks like abit of under cut where you sped up but other than that i think they look pretty good.

By the way how many amps were you using?

How long you been welding?

Comment

I'm using about 100 - 120 amps. Not sure how acurate this machine is.

I've had the welder for awhile. After my first few attempts I probably didn't touch it for a year but in the past few months I've burnt quite a bit of rod. Only instruction I've got so far is what I read on the internet.

Comment

HI CULLEN................WELCOME TO THE SITE...........ENJOY IT. ANYTHING YOU NEED ANSWERED HERE JUST POST AND A MULTITUDE OF PEOPLE ON HERE WILL ANSWER. MOST ARE ALWAYS EAGER TO JOIN IN THE CONVERSATION....................YOU KNOW I'M NOT EVEN SURE IF MONTGOMERY WARDS IS IN BUSINESS ANY LONGER...ANYONE ELSE KNOW............... ROCK
            [email protected]

Comment

Thanks. I love this stuff!

Wards is out of business but I was told this is a Century built unit. I want to learn what I need before I invest in some equipment.

Comment

Not too bad on those beads. Just keep practicing and they will keep getting better. I can't do much better with stick myself ,some days. The wirefeeders have spoiled me rotten.
                Arbo & Thor (The Junkyard Dog)
                The Next Loud Noise You Hear Is Me!

Comment