New Guy Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy Advice

My first post...I have been lingering for a couple months. I am trying to get into welding mostly as a hobby. I am building a old Jeep truck for part time use and it will need a lot of welding work in the future. The previous owner decided to drill a bunch of holes all over the body and I have found several other issues where knowing how to weld would be beneficial. I can't explain it but for some reason I have always wanted to know how to weld. I have a borrowed stick welder that I have practiced using without much success. I want to purchase a MIG mainly because it is my understanding that it is easier to use and would fit my applications better.

I have a couple questions if y'all would be so kind.
    1. Welding Classes: I was interested in taking a class but don't know/ can't find any in my area. Are these classes the type where its a couple hours, a couple days a week? I can not commit to full time school.

2. Should I buy a welder (I was very seriously looking at the HH140) before the class, during the class, after the class or just buy a welder and try to learn how to weld by myself using videos/ literature?

Sorry for the long post. I am a little lost and you guys seemed to be the ones to ask. Thanks
    1966 Jeep Gladiator Project Truck

I would tell you don't buy anything until you take your classes, or buy something cheap and practice. Don't buy anything too expensive you might find out welding isn't your thing, and be stuck with something that collects alot of dust. Once you take a course or two you might have a better understanding of what your welding needs are ie.... The type of welder you want to buy. Good luck

Comment

Nothing like learning "from" somebody.

Unless you are new to your area, there's got to be some-one
      who can coach you, No?

Most trades-men I am aquainted with, will go the extra mile