cutting propane tank safley

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cutting propane tank safley

i recently purchased a 650 gal tank and plan on building smoker for kansas city cook off.how do i cut it the right way without blowing up the county? by the way i am the head fabricator at a major paper mill, i have been a certified welder for over 35 years,thus the nick name wldsmke, short for weld smoke.

At least remove the fitting, then suspend it so that hole is at the bottom (propane is heavier than air). I let them sit out in the breeze that way for a couple weeks...it takes that long for the stink to completely go away. No guarantee its safe at that point, but I've cut into them then with a cutting disc...while re-assessing my life and sins. Some folks wash it all out with hot soapy water at that point, then go ahead.
    I'm no expert, so I'm not advising, just telling how I've done it. I suspect the experts will advise you to NEVER cut the tank...
    "Good Enough Never Is"

Comment

I've cut 2 tanks. One was a small 32 gal and I filled it with water prior to cutting. The other was a 250 gal and I ran a car exhaust thru it for 30 mins or so prior to cutting and also left the exhaust running while cutting. To me, the safest way is to fill with water, but a 650 gal tank is pretty big for that method. The best weldor I ever knew cut tanks by running auto exhaust in them for 30+ mins prior to cutting and continuing to exhaust them while cutting.
      Jim

Miller MM 210
      Miller Dialarc 250P
      Airco 225 engine driven
      Victor O/A
      Lots of other tools and always wanting more

Comment

wldsmke

I cant say how to do it safely but I can tell ya how I cut the diesel tank that I use for my current smoker.

I drained it of course then refilled with greese cutting dawn dish soap, let sit for 2 days. Then I drained and refilled again using another 1 little dollar store bottles, not quite full this time and drove around for 30 minutes or so.