Need Hobart TR-250-HF repair advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Hobart TR-250-HF repair advice

I'm picking up a hobart tig tomorrow, it's an older model, here's what the guy has to say about it.

"The Machine is a good unit, just needs a little love. I dont know exactly what's wrong with it. The current control circuit has a problem. I fixed a post flow problem a few weeks ago with a ten cent tranststor, so it could be as simple as that. The transformers, high frec. and all the major componets are good, and the unit will weld on a set voltage you just can't adjust the heat. If the price is rite I will let it go with the cables and all. It has a new Weldcraft WP17, 150 amp air cooled torch, new #2 copper ground lead. I have all the schematics and drawings for the machine as well."

I'll have it tomorrow night, where would you start?? Is it worth trying to repair or do you think it's worth paying someone? I'm a compitent welder with mig/arc/gas and I was trained in tig many yrs ago, we used to train trying to weld soda cans together. I'm somewhat compitent is electrics as well so tearing it down isn't a prob.

Thanks Phill

HAHA just found out it's a guy on the board thats selling it. Small world I guess.
    Last edited by ponyracer; 11-01-2007, 08:56 PM.

If the unit is stuck at one amperage output, I would suggest checking the tranistor heatsink assembly. There are 5 transisitors on there. Make sure they are not shorted, especially if the unit is at max current on each range. If at minimum then check the 4 resistors on the side to see if they are open.

Keith

Comment

Yes it welds at max output on each range. Pardon my ignorance but how does one check transistors and where are they located in this machine??

Thanks for the response.

Comment

Originally posted by Hobart Expert Keith View Post