Ac, dc-, dc+

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ac, dc-, dc+

At the same amperage with same electrode, say 6011 in 1/8” at 90 amps, how are the arc characteristics different for AC, DCEP, DCEN. Not talking about arc blow and basic AC and DC differences. Is one setting more aggressive? One less penetrating? For flat work.
    TIA.
    Garfish

Hobart 160i
    Lincoln 225/125 AC/DC

First, 6011 is designed for AC and 6010 is Designed for DCEP, both would have less penetration and harder to weld with DCEN
    Last edited by MilitiaMetals; 08-29-2020, 10:03 PM. Reason: n/a

Comment

What exactly are you welding, I personally dislike 6010/6011 for flat, too easy to trap slag as they're fast freeze rods, at least in other positions you have gravity helping from slag getting trapped in undercut. Flat work, I'd use a 7024 or 7018 personally. Maybe 6013 if it's super thin.

Comment

I didn't ask the question well (stick welding newbie here). What I am trying to get to is if everything else is held constant, for an electrode that can be used by all 3 currents (AC, DC + & -), how generally is the arc different? For an electrode with the 4th digit saying all three currents. I don't have access to an AC machine (or have much experience ;-) ) or I'd just give it a try to see. I am trying to understand stick better, but the question may not make a lot of real world sense. The application could be mild steel coupons. Thanks.
        Garfish

Hobart 160i
        Lincoln 225/125 AC/DC

Comment

Originally posted by garfish View Post