Extension Cord for Hobart Stickmate LX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extension Cord for Hobart Stickmate LX

I'm brand new to welding. I received a Hobart Stickmate LX 235AC/160DC as a birthday present 2 years ago. I'm just now starting to play with it. I have a 50 Amp dedicated recepticle which accepts the Hobart's plug. But I want to use an extension cord so I can move the machine around my shop. Fleet Farm has a 25ft 8/3 welder extension cord. But I'm not familiar with stuff like this.

Will someone please click the link below and read the specs and tell me if this will do the trick.

http://www.fleetfarm.com/detail/cci-.../0000000008922

Also, would this 8/3 wire be good enough to go 50 feet?

Thanks guys,

Don <><
    Last edited by genesis5521; 03-01-2013, 09:36 AM.

Don,
    That cord is plenty heavy enough, in fact you could use 10 gauge. I made my own up using 10 gauge cord.
    Are you sure that is the best price you can find?? Seems kinda high to me...
    sigpic

Comment

The rating of 40 amps at 250 volts is sort of a limiter, BUT I seriously doubt you will be running machine full tilt (maximum heat) so it should be a acceptable cord..... Only issue may be if plug/sockets on cord match welder and wall outlet....

I had a #10 x 3 (or maybe it was #8 x 3), 50ft cord on a old 180 amp Lincoln for years and never had a problem but never had to crank it up to max output... When I sold welder, I replaced cord with new short pigtail....

Dale
      Lives his life vicariously through his own self.

Comment

Usually just build my own cords, but you should be good to go. Pricing doesn't seem out of line since the receptacle and plug ends are included. A quick look at your owner's manual should indicate what size conducors to go with...downloadable off the site if you don't have yours. You may be able to go a lower gauge cord and save money...you''ll need to look.