grade my welds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• grade my welds

First of all I should say hello, I've posted a few times before but not very often. I bought my first welder in September (Stickmate LX 235 AC/ 160 DC). I'm also a heavy equipment mechanic which is what got me really interested in welding. I've built a small table that supports at least 200 pounds.

I'd say these are some of my better looking beads but I really don't know. This was all done with 1/8" Lincoln 7018 at 118 A DC+.

I don't know how much can be told from these pictures but if anyone has any suggestions I'd appreciate it.

Not too bad. Keep your arc length short and travel speed constant and you'll be good to go.

If you're welding on angle Iron, you may as well weld in the corner and pretend it's a fillet weld. Just keep stacking beads on beads. The first bead goes in at 45 degrees, the 2nd at 30 degrees, and the 3rd at 70 degrees. You are basically bisecting the angles between the beads.
    Lincoln Idealarc 250
    Lincoln Weldanpower CC/CV engine drive
    Lincoln LN-25 wire feeder
    Miller Syncrowave 180 SD
    Various oxy-fuel setups featuring Victor, Harris, and Prest-o-lite products

Comment

That's not angle iron it's 1/8" X 2" inch flat. The way I had the camera does make it look like angle iron. That's just a single pass at 45 degrees I have a few other pieces where I went over with multiple passes.

Comment

Hmm, the bead appears to be flat on the bottom piece of steel instead of being a fillet at a 45 degree angle. You'll have to work on that. You want to keep the leg size equal.
        Lincoln Idealarc 250
        Lincoln Weldanpower CC/CV engine drive
        Lincoln LN-25 wire feeder
        Miller Syncrowave 180 SD
        Various oxy-fuel setups featuring Victor, Harris, and Prest-o-lite products

Comment