SMAW rookie w/ a ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SMAW rookie w/ a ?

I just started learning the tried and true SMAW process but am having a devil of a time striking an arc and maintaining. I have tried the scratch method, tap method. I cant seem to keep from sticking the rod. Once I do namage to get the arc started and stable I can run a decent enough bead. I was running a 1/8 6011 on 3/16 plate. I tried 60-75 amps and nothing seemed to help. I asked a guy I work with that used to stick weld and he suggested that if the rod is sticking then it may be running too cold.

Ay tips or suggestions would be great.

After mig welding for the past 3 or so years this is driving me crazy.

Thanks.....

Far and away the first question is: what machine are you using.
    Trailblazer 302 * Millermatic 212 * Syncrowave 180SD * X-Treme 12VS Feeder * Spoolmate 3035
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52 Plasma * Lincoln 175 MIG

Victor Superrange II * Victor Journeyman

Hobart HH 125EZ

Comment

Well, for one thing you are too cold to start with. A 1/8" 6011 and 3/16" plate??? I'd be starting around 90 amps and adjusting from there.
      Don

Go Spurs Go!!!!!!

Comment

it takes practice to it took me months before i could strike an are regularly but even the best of welders stick some rods now and then
        Dylan

Comment

Yes, turn it up, dont be scared, it wont bite.
          http://www.facebook.com/cary.urka.urkafarms

Comment

today went much better. upped the amps to 90 and still stuck some but had much better performance. towards the end of my session today I was striking the arc and making a bunch of little circles next to each other on a plate. I guess practice makes ........ better.

Thanks guys......

Comment

Hey yammahoppy,