Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New 12ci Plasma Cutter- What am I doing wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New 12ci Plasma Cutter- What am I doing wrong?

I just got my plasma cutter in the mail and I can't seem to get the thing to operate correctly. The arch fires and I can get it to cut about 1/2 inch long (on 16 gauge sheet) then it just kicks off. The power button starts flashing and the cup button starts flashing intermittently. Cup seems fine, and everything is hand tight.

Any input? I'm new to plasma cutting.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9032.JPG
Views:	98
Size:	115.7 KB
ID:	709400
    Last edited by IRQVET; 05-23-2020, 12:10 AM.
    HOBART 210 MPV
    Northern Industrial 125

Originally posted by IRQVET View Post
    I just got my plasma cutter in the mail and I can't seem to get the thing to operate correctly. The arch fires and I can get it to cut about 1/2 inch long (on 16 gauge sheet) then it just kicks off. The power button starts flashing and the cup button starts flashing intermittently. Cup seems fine, and everything is hand tight.

Any input? I'm new to plasma cutting.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9032.JPG
Views:	98
Size:	115.7 KB
ID:	709400
    Have you checked your input voltage as your manual advises?

Comment

Can't you unpack that for me? The short anwser is no.
      HOBART 210 MPV
      Northern Industrial 125

Comment

Originally posted by IRQVET View Post
        Can't you unpack that for me? The short anwser is no.
        A flashing power light indicates your input voltage is less or more than the range allowed. (something like 90 - 130 V) Could be a problem with your input power cord or plug or your outlet power source, or just a dirty or loose connection in the input circuit. Use a Volt ohm meter to check.
        Last edited by Northweldor; 05-25-2020, 06:11 AM.

Comment