Plasma moisture effects.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plasma moisture effects.

Hey, i have a question about moisture in compressed air. My compressor is at its max. I have two filters, one at the plasma and one at the compressor. Both are canister type moister collectors with debris filter. Would a 1 1/2" X 8" drop with drain help if installed before the plasma filter or just rob cfm's. I can only imagine the moisture problem here in Virginia during August dog days. I am going to get a larger compressor in a few months but was just wondering what are the side effects of moisture in the compressed air. I understand low consumable life is one issue but what else. Thanks for any info. Also since i am new to the plasma realm are there any hard and true tips on using the plasma. It sure does make the work projects fun to do by not buying costly gas. Thanks again...........
    Fireman Bill

HH 210 MVP
    MM 211
    Spoolmate 100
    Lotas LTP5000D Plasma
    Oxy/Accet (Victor)
    Wards AC/DC buzz box
    30 ton old hyd press
    A few brand name tools
    A bunch of cheap tools
    A wife to worry me and
    4 dogs to supervise me

You don't say with the 'Max' is, but I'd first off, lower the pressure the compressor cuts off at to the maximum plasma input which shoud be about 100 PSI. Lowering the pressure lowers the amount of heating of the compressed air and lowers the dew point as well.

The farther away the plasma cutter is from the compressor the better off you are (unless yo use a refrigerated dryer) then you want the compressor as close to the dryer as possible because you want the dryer to receive hot compressed air as the dryer cools the hot air and in doing so, lowers the dew point and causes the moisture to liberate itself from the compressed air.