help with hobart 250ci

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help with hobart 250ci

I've never used a plasma cutter before and just bought a new hobart 250ci - I'm having trouble maintaining a cutting arc. I'm working in a cement floor barn - no heat and sometimes freezing temps, if that makes a difference in operation.

The problem is that what I start to cut the arc stops after 3-4 seconds without making a cut.....here are some comments:

I have a dedicated electrical outlet with adequate guage wire.
    none of the fault lights come on to indicate a problem
    i've replaced the tip without any change in results
    on one occassion I found moisture inside the tip - never happened again
    when i first used it it cut OK for half an hour, but was not impressed with speed
    with the current problem I've tried cutting 1/8" new aluminum to be sure I had a good ground, but no change

What should I do to find and solve the problem? any help or suggestions would be appreciated. thanks.

Bryan:

If this is new, and still under warranty, I would first contact the vendor and ask, and also call Hobart tech support to make them aware of your problem. (do this before aggressive trouble-shooting since this may void your warranty). They are usually very helpful at guiding you through some tests which will diagnose your problem.

Comment

I have a 250ci and it does not like Alum. The Alum. needs a lot of heat to cut it, I htink that the 1/8" Alum. is just a bit to much for the 250ci.

Comment

Originally posted by great white TJ View Post
        I have a 250ci and it does not like Alum. The Alum. needs a lot of heat to cut it, I htink that the 1/8" Alum. is just a bit to much for the 250ci.