Replacement plasma torches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacement plasma torches

Hello, I'm new to hobart weld talk and have been reading some of the post and i was wondering if anyone could help me out. I have a miller spectrum 500 it has a apt 5000 torch on it. It shorted out in the head of the torch i cut it apart and found the problem. But the parts to fix it are not available. So i have been looking for replacement torches the cheapest i have found so far is from weldmart online. The torch is a ALFHA-2 air plasma retrofit. What i would like to know is if its any good? Is weldmart a good company to deal with? Has anybody heard of weldmart before? Better yet! Does anybody have any old apt 5000 torches lay around? I have found out recently that life without a plasma cutter REALLY SUCKS!!!

A new Miller ICE-55c complete torch with 25' leads is $441.50 + free shipping from cyberweld.com. I think it's a direct replacement, but call Miller to make sure. Wouldn't have to worry about obsolete consumables then. Or you can get just the 55c torch body for about $280. The cheapest I could find the apt torch for was $614. Here's the link for the ICE-55c:

http://store.cyberweld.com/icpltopa3.html

again... call Miller to check retrofit. 1-800-231-9353

Better to put a factory torch back on. If you have trouble, you know who to deal with and you can buy consumables anywhere. Plus it's made here too, and Cyberweld is a reliable company. ---Mike---
    BUY AMERICAN... THE JOB YOU SAVE MAY BE YOUR OWN!!!!!

Hobart Champion 16
    Miller external secondary contactor
    stick foot pedal
    remote voltage control(homemade)
    Hobart Portafeed 17(w AG-2000 control box)
    Bernard Q350 mig gun
    Hobart AG-2000 pull gun
    Lincoln Hi-Freq k799(yes, I know it's red)
    Weldcraft CS300 tig torch
    Miller RFC-23A foot pedal
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 50
    Victor 450/300 series torches
    oodles of connecting cords