Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oxy propane torch tip getting too hot

Hey guys,
    Just bought a harris oxy propane kit for brazing im a referigeration tech, ive always used oxy acetylene but thought id give propane a go. Loving the performace out of the little compact torch but the **** tip gets so hot! It dosent pop or bang or get hard to ignite but no matter how i set this thing u cant prevent it from getting hot, the guy from harris just keeps saying i need more fuel gas but ive tried everything no matter how i set the torch it just gets hot even in mid air with out heating anything

Is this normal with propane?

Sam, welcome to the forum.
    Lincoln A/C 225
    Everlast PA 200

Comment

Originally posted by Sam92 View Post
      Hey guys,
      Just bought a harris oxy propane kit for brazing im a referigeration tech, ive always used oxy acetylene but thought id give propane a go. Loving the performace out of the little compact torch but the **** tip gets so hot! It dosent pop or bang or get hard to ignite but no matter how i set this thing u cant prevent it from getting hot, the guy from harris just keeps saying i need more fuel gas but ive tried everything no matter how i set the torch it just gets hot even in mid air with out heating anything

Is this normal with propane?
      I'm unfamiliar with your setup but do you have propane tip, or attempting to use an acetylene tip with propane? There are differences in flow rate and the propane has higher BTU content than acetylene.
      Thanks for reading/listening.

Antique Hobart Engine Drive Lover X5

Comment

I believe basically you need more fuel/oxygen pressure/volume... Its all about stand off, the tiny gap between torch head and actual combustion point of flame. The standoff caused by fuel flow insulates and cools the the tip from the high combustion temperatures of actual flame..

What pressure are you running regulators at, and how is your flame adjusted...

Dale