About to acquire oxy/acetylene....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• About to acquire oxy/acetylene....

I will be getting a set complete set of o/a soon. It has the two tanks, long hoses, torch and gauges. I have done some minor stick welding in the past and now, when I do any fabricating it's usually done with my Hobart 135 mig.
    It was suggested that, because of the age of the tanks (unknown at this point) that they need to be pressure checked. It was also suggested that I can use the oxygen bottle and a propane tank with propane instead of the acetylene. Was also told that different tips would be needed. Possibly different valves, possibly different connector. I'm new to using a torch, so all your comments and cautions are welcome. By the way, it would most likely be used for cutting stock or heating rusted stuff.....

Captain Bob,
    First of all if there is fuel and oxygen in the bottles already just use it up.. When you go to have them refilled or exchanged they will let you know if they are owner bottles or not. Then take it from there if you want to lease or buy or have bottles tested. In my area it cost 20 bucks to have a bottle tested.
    As far as Propane as fuel it will save you alot of money compared to acetylene. You don't have to do anything about the regulators. People say you need a hose compatible for propane but I disagree I have been using mine for over 25-30 years and the last 14 with propane. It does however take a special two piece tip for propane. You cannot weld with propane but, you can braze with it. I think they say propane is 400 degrees cooler but, that is no issue with me.....
    If you want to run propane take your torch to the welding and supply store and have them get you a tip...
    sigpic

Comment

Oxy/propane....

Thanks, Urch55. Comforting words for a newbie.... I'll be picking them up in a week or two.

Comment

I use both OA and OP, since it's a simple tip swap.