Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amature needs help with Smith Lifetime

Hi,
    I am not a professional by any shot but I have done basic welding, cutting etc.
    I had always used a victor set up but recently received a Smith Lifetime rig when my
    father in law passed away.

I tried to use it but I cannot get a good cutting flame. I turn both the oxy and act. on but get no result
    when I depress the handle. I open the valve up on the lower front and still get not cutting flame when
    I depress then handle.
    I can get a flame but cannot get it to increase oxy output when I depress the handle.
    Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for any help that you can give me.

Uncle Clay

Clean cutting tip. Set O2 pressure in according with Smith cutting tip chart. Might not have enough O2 Pressure. Low O2 cylinder pressure?

Comment

Originally posted by Uncle Clay View Post
      Hi,
      I am not a professional by any shot but I have done basic welding, cutting etc.
      I had always used a victor set up but recently received a Smith Lifetime rig when my
      father in law passed away.

I tried to use it but I cannot get a good cutting flame. I turn both the oxy and act. on but get no result
      when I depress the handle. I open the valve up on the lower front and still get not cutting flame when
      I depress then handle.
      I can get a flame but cannot get it to increase oxy output when I depress the handle.
      Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for any help that you can give me.

Uncle Clay
      Is this a three valve (combination welding-cutting) torch? If so, it sounds as though your oxygen hose valve is not wide open (at least 3 half turns).

Comment

Thanks for the replys.
        It is the 3 valve. Two at rear of bbl one for o2 and one for Acty. Then a 3rd one toward the front on the bottom.