How bad is my work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How bad is my work?

Well I did have a login here but I forgot it, now that I'm actually in welding classes I thought it was high time I get back into this forum.

I'm just looking for feedback on my O/A work. Currently I've been in the shop for a whole two days from 6:30pm to 10:00pm. I've managed to jokingly piss off the other students by not talking and working too much. Oh well. The pictures in order are, puddling, stringer beads, corner joint without filler, and corner joint with filler. I'm new to torch welding and honestly all welding so I'm just wondering if in doing good or bad. I at least got my regs set and torch lit to a neutral flame the first try.

The weld puddles aren't due until the third/fourth day of practice, likewise for the stringer beads, and the corner joints. I've gone way ahead and am just having fun with it. The tickets are about 1/16" hot rolled steel, 2"x6".
    Son of usmcpop. Lincoln SP175+, Miller Syncrowave 250, Miller Dialarc 250 AC/DC, Victor O/A, Index 745 Mill, Clausing 5904 lathe, Harbor Freight 8x12 lathe.

Accurate is a relative term...right?

Looks pretty good

the beads look pretty good for a new O/A weldor.

Great thing about O/A is you really can see and learn to control the puddle.

O/A is my favorate modality. You can do so much with it, and IMHO, It makes you a better weldor. Wait until you start brazing. You'll learn to love it I think. Lot you can do with brazing you can't do with welding. So much you can do with a torch outfit, can't list it all here!

Try different torch settings to experiment. Try and get real uniform with the puddle. Make the beads look like "STACKED DIMES" and you're there! Then, Go for a carbon then oxy flame instead of neutral. Your instructor can explain the difference and when/why they are used.

Keep up the good work.

-prowess

Hobart StickMate LX 235 AC/DC
    Hobart Handler 125 EZ
    Hobart Handler 187