Handler 140 Gas shut off delay?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Handler 140 Gas shut off delay?

I've been using my Hobart Handler 140 for about 5 years now with zero issues. Lately it has developed this "Won't shut off" problem when I release the trigger. The wire feed stops and the the voltage stops but the gas doesn't shut off right away. Sometimes there's a 2-4 sec delay and sometimes the gas just stays on, coming out of the tip. I've had to shut the bottle off at the valve. Is there something I can clean? It's not the trigger switch, I checked. I was going to buy an entire new welder but it seems like I can fix it or have it serviced somewhere. Thoughts and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Probably a sticky gas valve... Should be able to disassemble and clean.... Should be mounted in back plate where gas hose connects.... IF cleaning does not help, probably just replace...

Be sure unit is unplugged before venturing inside...

Dale
    Last edited by Dale M.; 07-08-2020, 08:41 AM.
    "Fear The Government That Wants To Take Your Guns" - Thomas Jefferson..

Comment

If wire stops, it's not the trigger. There is a gas valve solenoid. Look for that. Should be easy to replace.

Comment

Excellent. Thank you. I will open it up when I get home this afternoon.

Comment

RESULTS! First off, thank you for the practical assistance. I've solved the gas valve not shutting off issue.

Here's what I did (in case anyone else experiences this same thing) : Unplugged power. Disconnected gas bottle. Removed top handle and all the 1/4" cover screws. Unplugged solenoid valve spade connectors noting wire position, remove clear barbed tubing. One plastic threaded nut secures it to the back of the unit. Once removed, I held the little valve in my hand and you could blow air through it. Odd, because it's a normally closed electromagnet plunger type and nothing should pass through it unless energized.