Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What type welding jacket will stop mig weld splatter from burning me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What type welding jacket will stop mig weld splatter from burning me?

I am underneath a car welding some floor pans and sometimes weld splatter will burn through my sweater and then burn me.

What type of welding jacket will stop this from happening. A small BB sized weld splatter burned me yesterday and it didn't feel very good.

A lot of jackets say they are "flame retardant" but flames are NOT the issue. It is the molten metal that sometimes pops off and then burns through your clothes that IS the issue.

Any suggestions will be good.
    Last edited by 1320King; 08-05-2014, 01:20 PM.

I am a hobbyist and I have the cloth jacket and like it just fine. For your type of work you may need a leather jacket.
    Miller Challenger 172
    Hobart AC/DC Stickmate
    Older Sears AC stick machine

Comment

The only welding jacket that will stop those pesky weld spatters from burning you and melting your sweater is the one you are wearing!

'Flame retardant' is definitely good------flames will be an issue if you weld long enough without flame retardant clothing. Molten metal can do this sometimes. Definitely don't wear any nylon/synthetic stuff. Buy and wear a real welding jacket. That's what they're made for. I have a cloth Miller, which I usually wear---it's cooler and lighter, but I have a leather one I wore for classes where we did stick welding, flame-cutting, etc. Anything overhead and I'd grab the leather one.
      Last edited by MarkG; 08-09-2014, 11:41 AM.

Comment

Leather is tops cotton is second best. Do not wear anything synthetic...

Found out dark colors (black) will not reflect as much light into back side of helmet as lighter colors (medium green)..

Avoid this color...