Steady Crackle vs Pop Pop Pop

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steady Crackle vs Pop Pop Pop

Self taught, I have been using a Handler 140 for several years now with very good outcomes. (I love the world this opened) Recently, I struggled with a peculiar problem. The familiar rapid crackle of a smooth MIG bead changed becoming a very erratic “pop pop pop” on the next joint. Seemed worse when I was welding a trailer hinge above me. No change in settings between beads. I chased gas flow, wire speed, gun angle… Any Clues?

Let me preface this by saying that I'm new to welding myself, so I may be completely off base, but did you have a good connection with your work clamp?

Comment

IF you are having problems with work clamp.... Upgrade it to same as on NEW H140 and H190.. 200amp... Part number Hobart (Miller) #257796 It's a real work clamp and not the junkie jumper cable clamp...

And I always try to hit a spot on work surface with grinder for shinny new connection surface...

Dale
      Last edited by Dale M.; 11-21-2013, 10:53 AM.
      Lives his life vicariously through his own self.

Comment

The things that can cause popping I'm sure are many but to much stick out, bad ground, dirty/rusted metal, wire speed to slow or high, to little drive roll pressure. I am sure there are more reasons but these are the ones i can think of. Check your ground clamp connection and clean the contact surface of the clamp, it can't hurt to shine it up a little. I also sand a clean area to ground too. Clean your weld area the best you can. Good luck....
        Fireman Bill

HH 210 MVP
        MM 211
        Spoolmate 100
        Lotas LTP5000D Plasma
        Oxy/Accet (Victor)
        Wards AC/DC buzz box
        30 ton old hyd press
        A few brand name tools
        A bunch of cheap tools
        A wife to worry me and
        4 dogs to supervise me

Comment

As fireman said it is most likely operator error. Trouble shooting is everything.