Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opinions on upgrading mig welder: Ironman 230 or one of the Millermatics??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on upgrading mig welder: Ironman 230 or one of the Millermatics??

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here! I am in the market for a new mig welder(my 12 year old Hobart Handler 125 has been a workhorse but is starting to get tired!). I am considering the Ironman 230 and the Millermatic 212. The Ironman seems like a really nice machine and I like the sturdy tap settings. But then I also like some of the features the 212 has(not so much autoset but I like the short circuit tip saver). Anyone have an y opinions on these? Would it be worth the $700 more to step up to the MM 252? I figure once I buy it it is likely the last mig welder I will buy for many years so I want to make t he purchase count!

Thanks!!

Steve

I have the MM210, predecessor to the 212, and if I decided to change, it would be the IM230, hands down.

Comment

Any particular reason? The IM230 looks to be the best value and I think I may be leaning towards it.

Comment

If you want "infinite" adjustment, and the color blue, go with the mm 252, it also has a lot of built in features, check out the miller YouTube channel. The mm 252 also goes up to 300 amps, and has an ever so slightly better duty cycle.

However, the ironman will weld 24 gauge, up to 1/2", the 252 will go down to 22 or 20 gauge, maybe.

My vote goes for the ironman, with the extra $$ buy the spool gun and the argon tank, and upgrade your capabilities. Even then you might still pay less for all that then just getting the mm 252, if you get a discount maybe. I'm not sure what the spool guns run for the ironman.
        Last edited by Hobby welder; 04-25-2013, 06:10 PM.
        sigpic
        Eastwood MIG135, never fails to make me wonder.