Help needed on technique for Fabshield XLR-8 wire

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help needed on technique for Fabshield XLR-8 wire

I am a welder in Hawaii and am working on a structural steel project welding 3/8” thick square tubing for a building frame. The welds are subject to inspection by a welding inspector. I have been using Excel Arc 71 .045” with good results (passed my first inspection) but there has been a problem coming up with high winds at the site and making the wind shields became impractical. I got a roll of Fabshield XLR-8 in the 1/16” diameter size to use in the wind but am having lots of problems with it, especially welding vertical up. The biggest problem is that the flux does not follow the arc well enough to hold the weld metal when in the vertical up position. Even when running practice beads in the flat position the flux is inconsistent in following the arc and sometimes beads up or splits down the middle. I can get the flux to follow better by reducing the voltage in increments but when it starts looking right the voltage seems too low with a ropey weld and the electrode stubbing into the work at the beginning of the weld.

I am using a Miller XMT 350 CC/CV (on the MIG or CV setting) with a 60 series wire feeder. The polarity is set to DCEN, inductance +10, voltage at the machine 18V, wire speed 145 IPM, and the machine reads 180 amp while welding. We put a volt meter on the machine while welding and got about 17.5 volts (we tried actually checking at the work piece and got a little less, more like 17). We checked the wire speed by timing and measuring the wire and the 145 imp is accurate. I am using a stick out of 1”. I checked all the connections which seemed ok (the same machine was working fine with the Excel Arc 71 wire in the DCEP polarity setting) and the work piece and ground connection are clean. The wire seems fresh (we just bought it) and we are bagging it in plastic each night to protect from moisture.