Where to 'look' while MIG welding?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to 'look' while MIG welding?

I've been a hobby welder on a Lincoln 220 AC stick model for 30 years, so I can hold my own when stick welding. But the very high level of visibility using rods when horizontal welding on a butt joint seems to have spoiled me somewhat. Being right handed, my preferred technique welding on a bench is to move left to right with the rod tip angled back toward my left. I can see the joint line I am following by glancing past the rod to my right. I position my head angled slightly left to watch things.

With a fat MIG nozzle and 3/8 stickout that is not possible. The nozzle hides several inches of joint. So I'm looking for suggestions how to see where the bead is headed, yet also watch the puddle and forming of the bead. I tried moving the nozzle away from myself along the bead but then that hides the puddle on the far side of the nozzle.

Practicing, I can lay down a relatively straight bead by watching it as it forms behind the nozzle, (rather like steering a car by only looking backwards), and when I later moved from practicing flat butt joints to a T joint I found it much easier to keep my bearings as I moved the nozzle along. So I suppose lots of practice will ultimately show the best way for me.
    Last edited by Metalmuncher; 03-20-2012, 09:16 PM.

I decided to look around on the non-MIG sections tonight, and I found some helpful tips for answering my question in this thread under the General Welding section:

http://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtal...809#post417809

Comment

If at all possible when I push a weld, I like to go from right to left, right handed, looking from the left side. And dragging it is ideal for me to go from left to right also looking from the left side. That being said its not always practical, or possible.

Comment

Thanks for the reply!