OK guys I'm new be gentle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OK guys I'm new be gentle

OK I'll start this by admitting I have VERY little proper welding training. When I was in auto tech school, I was handed a Miller cricket (110v machine) I wish I knew more but that was a LONG time ago. I was told just keep playing with it till it looks and sounds right. so much for proper training!! Now Fast Forward a decade or so, I'm a custom car builder in a well know shop here in town. I 've built several national class winning cars and I do a lot of the welding on the bodies, I weld the brackets to the frame for just about everything but the suspension and steering (I have a cert. weldor on staff) I've been picking his brain for a long time and have got some good info but I NEED to get better as he is retiring soon, anyway to get to the point of my post I've narrowed down my search for my new machine, I now have a cheap Solar 130 machine at home, I keep it loaded with .030" L-56 wire and co2 Argon mix I've managed (with a LOT of practice) to become pretty proficient with it. but the drive system has given up the ghost so I'm looking at 3 other machines the HH 187, the Miller machine (cant remember the number and the Lincoln promig 180 HD I'm thinking th HH is gonna end up in the shop any hints on what a good wire is for me to use for general automotive type building with cold rolled steel and ERW tubing around .120" thick?

Hey 383,