New user, handler on the way, fab questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New user, handler on the way, fab questions

First off I am new to the forums. I am a newbie to welding but have done it with both arc and mig and have decided I wanted a gas machine. I work on jeeps and offroading vehicles and decided on a handler 210 which I am waiting to receive soon in the mail. I have a couple questions about it because I am curious.

Is the wirefeed system considered push or pull or push and pull? Is the stock system with a different liner decent for aluminum?

I will be welding mainly 3/16 to 1/4 mild steel with occasional 3/8 mild steel. Sometimes I will need to weld steel to axles which I believe are a cast material. Someone mentioned using a high nickel content solid wire with gas to get better penetration. Is this true and when purchasing wire, how can I as a consumer tell that the wire has high nickel content?

For welding steel to steel what type of wire should I use? Is the high nickel content wire still okay?

From you experienced welders, which is more practical:
    a) welding dirty steel with a high mangenese & silicone content wire
    -OR-
    b) cleaning up steel before use and welding with a standard wire?

Thanks ahead of time and I hope I didn't break the ice with anything too stupid. I am trying to cover my bases and figure out what kind of accessories and consumables to purchase.

First off I am new to the forums. I am a newbie to welding but have done it with both arc and mig and have decided I wanted a gas machine. I work on jeeps and offroading vehicles and decided on a handler 210 which I am waiting to receive soon in the mail. I have a couple questions about it because I am curious.

Is the wirefeed system considered push or pull or push and pull? Is the stock system with a different liner decent for aluminum?