Hobart Handler 187 max thickness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hobart Handler 187 max thickness

Hey everyone, I was directed to this forum for info on hobart welders. I'm looking for something bigger for myself, I have been welding for about 2 years now on a miller 135 w/ flux core at work. Tried out a hobart 140 w/ gas at school and my friends MM210. Gas is sooo much nicer than flux.

After doing some reseach I have concluded that I am stuck between a HH187 and a HH210. The 210 is 200 more and that is where my problem is.

I plan on mainly doing automotive fab, offroading, and I want to start exo caging my truck. From what I'm reading, the 187 can do 5/16" w/ gas. Which is more than enough for normal fab work. Thing is, can I weld 3/8" with this thing if I switch over to flux core.

I will very rearly go above a 1/4" thickness and plan on always using gas. But if I do have to do something thicker can I throw in flux core wire and be able to do it?

I know that on the miller 135 at work w/ good prep and flux core I could safely weld 1/4". I actaully welded 1/4" spring perches to a 1/2" axle tube w/ 3 pass w/ this thing and they are on there real well.

Or would I be able to do mulitple passes w/ the 187 on gas and weld thicker material if neccesary?

Any help would be greatly appricated.

Thanks,

MIke.

I had the same problem ,but I finally went with the HH210 because I new I would be kicking my self for not getting the bigger one , the HH210 has never let me down ,and welds great ,as does the HH187,I made the mistake buying
    to small of a welder when I bought my last one , never again ! , Oh and welcome to the board there's a lot of good info on here ,Craig.
    Hobart Handler 210 mig , 80cf bottle of C-25 mix
    Bokrand GmbH pocket mig , 110v
    Clarke 101E stick , 110v
    Craftsman 10" drill press
    Craftsman 12" bandsaw
    HF 12 ton hydraulic press
    Black Max 6hp 60gal air compressor
    2 4 1/2" grinders