Anybody want to grade my weld?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody want to grade my weld?

Have a look and tell me how it looks. What do I need to do differently? The top piece is about 3/16", the bottom is about 3/8".

Thanks,
    -john
    HH 187

Picture number one has a great big WTF on the corner and is inconsistent on the left side weld.

Picture number two looks alright but to be truthful, with no inspection criteria mentioned, both welds could be good or bad.

Practice more.
    Two turn tables and a microphone.

Comment

Yeah, I don't have much of a clue on corners.

Help me out with the inspection criteria. What is it you need to know? I'm just practicing on scrap. I'm an absolutely newbie with wire feed, so I want to know what jumps out at anyone with a trained eye that is obviously wrong, bad, etc.. Suggestions for how to correct the flaws would help too.

Oh, this is FCAW btw. I'm using the .030 roll that came with the welder.

Thanks,
      -john
      HH 187

Comment

John, on the end of the angle for example, slow down a little and get your speed consistent. You need to watch the puddle and make sure it forms completely and fills to both pieces of the work. You're on the right track, but you need consistency and steadiness. Your bead is a bit too wide for the thickness material (3/16), it appears that you've got a too-fast, too wide, weave going on. Tighten it up some.
        Trailblazer 302 * Millermatic 212 * Syncrowave 180SD * X-Treme 12VS Feeder * Spoolmate 3035
        Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52 Plasma * Lincoln 175 MIG

Victor Superrange II * Victor Journeyman

Hobart HH 125EZ

Comment

Thanks Zrexxer. That's great feedback.
          -john
          HH 187

Comment