Pull or Push?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pull or Push?

I just read this in another post and decided to make a thread. When I was a mechanic, I spent plenty of time in the welding shop. Some work, some "personal projects" as we called them. The welders taught me to always go forward..push I guess, when mig welding, and pull when stick welding.

Is this still the primary rule or certain conditions call for different things? I've had good luck doing it this way since I learned to weld.

Thanks,
    Rob
    Second Location
    HF 220v gasless mig
    Hobart AC Stickmate
    80/B O/A

Pushing with MIG is a preference, not a rule. The only real rule is.."If it has slag..you must drag.(or pull)" So, stick, flux core, and dual shield should be pulled. Solid wire can be either. You will get much better penetration by pulling, but better bead/puddle control by pushing. Running aluminum MIG, you have to push. That allows the cleaning action of the arc to work ahead or you to avoid contamination issues. That is just a general overview of it. That help?
    Don

Go Spurs Go!!!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by dda52 View Post
      Pushing with MIG is a preference, not a rule. The only real rule is.."If it has slag..you must drag.(or pull)" So, stick, flux core, and dual shield should be pulled. Solid wire can be either. You will get much better penetration by pulling, but better bead/puddle control by pushing. Running aluminum MIG, you have to push. That allows the cleaning action of the arc to work ahead or you to avoid contamination issues. That is just a general overview of it. That help?
      Great answer!
      As Iron Sharpens Iron,
      So One Man Sharpens Another.

Proverbs 27:17

Comment

Hey Rob,