HH140 with regulator guages and No flow gauge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HH140 with regulator guages and No flow gauge

I'm new to welding. What PSI do I set the regulator contol at to patch my old truck fender with C25 and .023 solid wire?
    Don

Don't have a HH140 but I think my mig is set around 20 psi

Comment

Shielding gas is cheaper than grinding out for welds due to porosity. Set it on 20 and live large. Try to keep the breeze down if you are working outside.
      Miller 251, Lincoln PrecisionTig 275, Miller DialArc 250 AC/DC, Hypertherm 900, Bridgeport J-head, Jet 14" lathe, South Bend 9" lathe, Hossfeld bender with a collection of dies driving me to the poorhouse, Logan shaper, Ellis 3000 bandsaw, Royersford drill press and a Victor Journeyman O/A.

Comment

I run between 20-30CFH

Comment

You can't set the flow correctly with a guage calibrated in PSI unless you can tell from experience how loud the "hiss" should sound.

Shielding gas is set by flow rate (cubic feet per hour), not pressure (pounds per square inch). Flowgauges are relatively inexpensive. I'd just buy one.

If that's out of the question, I'd start at 2 - 3 PSI and pull the trigger and listen. You should adjust the pressure untill you get a soft, audible hiss from the MIG gun. Then, weld on a coupon. If you see porosity (little holes everywhere), then turn it up and try again.

When you don't see any porosity, the flow rate is adequate.

Hank
          ...from the Gadget Garage
          MM 210 w/3035, BWE
          HH 210 w/DP 3035
          TA185TSW
          Victor O/A "J" series, SuperRange
          Avatar courtesy of Bob Sigmon...

Comment

Thanks for the ideas.